Tag: Hamblen

New Justices Appointed to UK Supreme Court

The UK Supreme Court has announced that three new Justices will join its bench in 2020. Lord Justice Hamblen will join on 13 January 2020, Lord Justice Leggatt will join on 21 April 2020 and Professor Andrew Burrows will join on 2 June 2020. They will replace Lady Hale of Richmond, Lord Carnwath of Notting Hill and Lord Wilson of Culworth. At the same time, Lord Reed, the current Deputy President of the Court, will take up the position of President of the Court which is now held by Lady Hale.

Lord Reed was appointed as a Justice of the Supreme Court in February 2012. Prior to his appointment, he served as a Judge in the Scottish Court of Session between 1998 to 2012. He is also a member of the panel of ad hoc judges of the European Court of Human Rights and a Non-Permanent Judge of the Hong Kong Court of Final Appeal. He was educated at the Universities of Edinburgh and Oxford. Lord Justice Hamblen served as an Assistant Recorder in 1999 and as a Recorder from 2000. He has sat as a Justice in the High Court from November 2008. He was educated at St John’s College, University of Oxford and Harvard Law School. Lord Justice Leggatt sat as a Recorder on the Western Circuit for 10 years. He was also appointed to the Queen’s Bench Division of the High Court in 2012, later promoted to the Court of Appeal. He was educated at King’s College, Cambridge and the Harvard University. Professor Andrew Burrows is Professor of the Law of England at the University of Oxford and a Fellow of All Souls College. He has been sitting as a part-time judge for over 20 years, first as a Recorder and then as a Deputy High Court Judge. He was educated at Prescot Grammar School, Knowsley, Merseyside and Brasenose College, Oxford (UK Supreme Court).

The UK Supreme Court was established in 2009 by the Constitutional Reform Act 2005 replacing the Appellate Committee of the House of Lords which had served as the UK’s highest Court for centuries. Unlike in the United States, Justices of the UK Supreme Court are selected by a non-political panel and are subject to mandatory retirement.